Masia becomes 100th different Grand Prix winner for Honda

The Aragon GP saw Jaume Masia take their first Grand Prix victory on a Honda and became Honda's 100th different Grand Prix winner.

From Australia's Tom Phillis at the 1961 Spanish GP to Jaume Masia in 2020 at the Aragon GP, 100 different Honda riders have amassed 799 Grand Prix wins between them. Honda are the first manufacturer to achieve 100 different winners across all Grand Prix classes, demonstrating 'The Power of Dreams'. It was a dream which started in 1954 when Soichiro Honda, the founder of Honda, declared that Honda would race in the Isle of Man TT, aiming to become the world's best and most successful motorcycle brand.

Masia, who is in his first year with the multiple-championship Leopard Racing Team, achieved his first Grand Prix win on a Honda with a spirited performance in Aragon. The young Spanish rider becomes the 100th different Honda winner after challenging for the win on multiple occasions this year. This is Masia's second podium finish of the year aboard the Honda NSF250RW.

Of the 100 winners, 31 riders have achieved wins on Honda machinery in the premier class across the 500cc and MotoGP categories, with 309 wins between them.

Marc Marquez (56), Mick Doohan (54), Dani Pedrosa (54), Jim Redman (45) and Mike Hailwood (41) stand as the five most successful Honda riders across all classes in terms of victories.

Across the victories, there are a litany of iconic machines which have propelled these 100 riders to victory, the NSR500, RS125R and RS250RW have all achieved over 100 wins across their respective classes with legends such at Mick Doohan, Valentino Rossi, Wayne Gardner, Freddie Spencer, Daijiro Kato, Max Biaggi, Loris Capirossi and Hiroshi Aoyama taking victories and championships with them.

In the four-stroke era, the Honda RC211V saw ten different riders win in the premier class – the NSR500 at 16 different winners the only machine to achieve more varied premier class success.

Honda have achieved 62 world titles with 21 premier class Rider World Championships, 16 250cc World Championships, 18 125cc/Moto3 World Championships, 6 350cc World Championships and one in the 50cc class.

Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.